Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

Not a whole lot this time, guys. It’s been a really tiring week and I needed some nothing-time.

Superman: Last Son of Krypton

Okay, so this story confused the hell out of me. Is this not part of the New 52 universe? I thought, post Flashpoint, that Superman was now with Wonder Woman and Lois Lane, while still around, wasn’t really in the picture anymore. But Superman and Lois Lane are married in this title. I am confused! Outside of that, the story was cute – how the little boy ended up there is a huge question running around still, but I assume that’s something that will eventually be answered…

Final Opinion: Solid

Infinity #1

Wait…so…we have another event coming up? How many events are there per year?? Or is this something different? I’ve heard that Hickman’s Avengers and New Avengers are moving toward this story (though at the moment, I have no idea how…) but will all of the other titles be involved as well? What little story we got here (and it really wasn’t much) sounds like we’re going into an interesting plot. Though I was curious about one thing: Was the tribute that was brought to Thanos a box full of children? That was my first though – and it really reminded me of Torchwood: Children of Earth (Anyone? Anyone?). If that’s the case, this could get bad rather quickly…

Final Opinion: Solid

Aphrodite IX

I’d been looking forward this issue, because I’d heard good things about the series as a whole. I really need to stop having high expectations! I wasn’t a huge fan of this one. The dialog was a little stiff. I wasn’t a fan of Aphrodite, not because of her character, but because of the costume, the poses the artist chose to put her in, and the angles she was drawn in. I’m sorry, but I am really sensitive to things that hint at objectification, and that’s all I could see here. Oh well, it was worth a shot!

Final Opinion: Drop

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

  1. “Okay, so this story confused the hell out of me. Is this not part of the New 52 universe?”
    This FCBD offering featured a reprint of the first issue of a storyline by Geoff Johns from 2006 (Action Comics #844) hence the confusion.

Leave a Reply

