Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

Jupiter’s Legacy #1

Okay, so there was something bothering me about this story from the get-go and I couldn’t quite figure out what it was at first. I mean, reviews that I’ve seen have been mostly favorable, but I couldn’t get to the point that I liked it. So I sat down and thought for a moment and came up with this: Time does not make sense in this story. And yes, while I know most superhero stories have wonky time in terms of characters aging, we know our original hero’s have aged pretty dramatically (lots of gray and white hair, lots of wrinkle lines) but they have kids that seem…well…young. And the story as a whole seems to be going for a lot more realism than your typical superhero story. The adults were young, maybe early to mid 20s, at the beginning of the story, which was in the 1930s. Their kids don’t look much older than 30 themselves in 2013, meaning they were born in the 1980s at the earliest. So their parents were 70 when they had kids?? That seems a little off – and maybe I’m nitpicking a bit here, but for a series that’s trying to hard to be set in our world and portray it realistically, it seems like someone could have sat down for five minutes and done the math…

Another thing – I just don’t like stories where your main characters (in this case Chloe and Brandon) are so thoroughly unlikable. I mean, I’m sure they’re being set up for a massive change of heart at some point, but having to deal with them until that point just isn’t all that interesting to me. Which is sad, because a lot of interest concepts and ideas were brought up all throughout this story, and I would have really liked to see where they were going with those – but I can’t justify it if I don’t want to read these characters.

Final Opinion: Drop

East of West #2

This was a wonderful second issue – a good balance of humor (albiet Dark humor) and explanation. We get answers for some of the questions we were left with at the end of last issue, but not enough that we still don’t have plenty of other questions that need answers. If anything, it’s left me more intrigued and more interested in just what the heck is going on. Cult of world leaders, groups split apart by choice, cryptic sayings – more than enough to keep me entertained and reading!

I will say I was a little peeved at the new president’s outfit (seriously…why?) but whatever. Hickman has gotten me hooked on this world and these characters – and while the argument can be made that we barely know them (this is only two issues in, after all), they’re all intriguing enough from the get go that you just want to know more about them.

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Daredevil TPB #3

Mark Waid seems like he can’t do wrong when it comes to Daredevil – every issue I pick up just makes me sink further and further into this story that’s developing. First off, the collaboration between Daredevil, Punisher, and Spider-Man was kind of awesome (I really need to look up some Spider-Man – Peter Parker is too amusing to not need to read more of…especially when he’s in control of his own body…) and the storyline surrounding that was just fun with the “Megacrimecon” they pulled off. It was fun and interesting. The story surrounded Cole-Alves was maybe a little chiche, but still done well.

Now, the storyline that followed, with Dr. Doom in Latveria…THAT was interesting. Mostly because I have no idea what the consequences are going to be from this. The storyline had me guessing and gasping all over the place, but what was happening near the very end is probably the most noteworthy. Matt could SEE – even me in my limited knowledge of this knows this is a HUGE deal. That whole arc just had me on the edge of my seat. And of course the trade finishes on something of a cliffhanger, which just left me screaming. Must find the 4th TPB now!!

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Morning Glories TPB #2

And another story that keeps reeling me in and telling me next to nothing – SO MANY QUESTIONS! This whole trade was smaller stories about each character (except, strangely, Casey) and a blurb of their background. And we know they were all connected prior to coming to this school (apparently by Ike’s father…which is just more confusing) and they all have some sort of strangeness about them (either some sort of ability or they aren’t who they say they are somehow). It was kind of interested to see how they all tied to each other, not to mention how some of these stories tied to each other when you could see the different story lines crossing over one another. It was an interesting read, and not so much background that it didn’t slowly advance the main storyline. We also had the addition of the guidance councilor, who looks to be an interesting character in her own right. I’m really glad I already have the next two TPBs for this story, because I don’t know if I could wait long to read more of this…

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

  1. lacracha says:

    Morning Glories is one of my favorite titles. I was hooked before I even finished reading issue #1. I met the writer, Nick Spencer, at a comic convention last year. He’s very creative and I love all the suspense that this title thrives on.

    • cr8zygurl says:

      I’m not sure I could have stared reading with issue #1 – I would be dead by now because I wanted more so badly!! But I figure I’m going to catch up before we get too much further, so I am probably going to be joining you guys in reading one issue at a time soon enough!

  2. Jessica says:

    Jupiter’s Legacy is the type of series I would feel more comfortable reading in trades. The series definitely has an interesting concept, but the first issue just didn’t hook me. It felt like they tried to introduce too much at once and therefore lacked some interesting storytelling.

    I’m glad that I only recently discovered Morning Glories because, frankly, I would have lost my mind if I had to read it issue by issue. It would have made it way more confusing to read one issue a month and forget all the little details in between. The trades are definitely the way to go with MG.

Leave a Reply

