Comic Newbie Week in Summary (4/17 – 4/23)

Overall

Kind of running late today guys – sorry!

This was kind of a slow week in the comics department. I think real life kind of snuck up on me and gave me a sucker punch – it’s been pretty crazy around here, and it doesn’t look like things are going to get much better for a little while at least. So reading may be a bit slow for a bit longer. Sorry guys!! Otherwise, I’m really happy that I started catching up on series. Finally getting to read the beginning of Captain Marvel and getting through AvX were probably the highlights of my week (I finally got to cross them off my list of issues I still needed to read!) Hopefully I can get through the new stuff and class stuff this week, but we shall see

Category Rankings

Easiest to Pick Up Without Prior Knowledge

Captain Marvel TPB #1 – Yes, another #1 issue falls into this category. I really enjoyed this TPB, though I’ve really been enjoying the Captain Marvel series as a whole, so this isn’t all that surprising! It’s a series I would certainly recommend to others!

Most Likely to Hold Your Attention

Nothing This Week

Most Surprising Issue

Ultron #1 – I wasn’t expecting a whole lot from this issue, but it surprised me. I found myself really liking Victor and I wanted to read more about him. I might have to pick up Avengers A.I., which I wasn’t planning on picking up (I think I read enough Avengers series…). But we shall see. At the very least, I will be getting my hands on Runaways!

Most Surprising Ending

Superior Spider-Man #8 – Even though we knew this was leading to a showdown between Peter and Otto for control of Peter’s body, but I wasn’t expecting it now…nor was I expecting Ock to try and lobotomize himself/Peter. Next issue is certainly going to be interesting if it picks up from here…

Most Repetitive

Nothing This Week

Least Likely To Hold Your Attention

Wolverine & The X-Men TPB #3 – Sadly, Wolverine & The X-Men didn’t do such a good job this time around…mostly because these were supposed to be tie ins to AvX. It made for almost no consistent story and it was impossible to fully understand it without reading AvX in tandem. I’m expecting #4 to be about the same, which is sad.

Most Wikipedia Searches Required

Nothing This Week

Most Confusing

The Massive TPB #1 – I was having a hard time figuring out what was going on in this issue, and who was who. It didn’t help that I wasn’t really enjoying what I was reading, so what can you do. I started to get a handle on who was who near the end of the book, but it was almost too little too late. It was sad – I was hoping I would enjoy this more thanI did, but what can you do?

Worst Pick

Wolverine #2 – This book was just wierding me out. The idea of a kid being possessed by an alien intelligence and killing people was just a little too much for me. I think I’m going to have to concede that I really don’t like Wolverine series…or at least the ones that are being written now. And there’s plenty of other good stuff out there to read, so there’s really no reason to need a book about a specific character…

Personal Favorite

Captain Marvel #12 – This issue may not have been everyone’s favorites, but the revelations that came up during this one just had me on the edge of my seat. I am SOOO excited for the next issue to come out. I am so curious to see where this is going.

Comic Issues To Be Read This Week

  1. Secret Six TPB #1- One of the books for class this week. My first Gail Simone Book, and from what I’ve been hearing about her, I’m really excited to read this!!
  2. Batgirl #0 – Also a class book, also excited because it’s a Gail Simone Book
  3. Wonder Woman #7 – Reading for class as well, but I’m excited to see where the storyline goes after last week’s TPB
  4. Avengers #10 – Hickman’s Saga Continues! Should be interesting to see where we end up at the end of this one…
  5. New Avengers #3 – After the end of last issue and the epic battle that is surely going to happen, I cant wait to see what these guys do and where this series ends up going next!
  6. East of West #2 – Hickman’s Saga Continues (ver. 2) 😀
  7. FF #6 – I think I might have to go back and reread #5, because I don’t quite remember where that one left off before going into this issue. I read WAY too much apparently!
  8. Guardians of the Galaxy #2 – Well, last issue left us with a cliffhanger that’s going to need to be resolved here, and I’m kind of excited to see how Bendis will go about it!
  9. Jupiter’s Legacy #1 – Heard about this one at some point, and I’ve had it sitting on my list, just waiting to actually be released. It sounds like an interesting idea for a story, and I can’t wait to give it a try!
  10. Daredevil TPB #3 – First time in a while that a Daredevil TPB managed to not get read in a week when I purchased it. I think I’ve just been reading too much and I needed a break last week!
  11. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The Marvelous Land of Oz, Ozma of Oz, Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz – I will get around to reading these stories eventually…
  12. Glory TPB #1 – I heard about this series from someone else on the class boards, and it sounded interesting. Hopefully it’ll prove more interesting than Polarity did XD
  13. Morning Glories TPB #2 and #3 – Need to keep moving with this story because it is far too interesting to not know what happens next!
  14. Watchmen TPB – One of these days I will get around to finishing this…
Tagged

Leave a Reply

