Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

Wolverine & The X-Men TPB #2

This story is really just a fun read – the antics are almost always a little silly, but the characters and their interactions keep the whole thing afloat. I love reading about the students at this school, and anytime we focus on them a little I am really happen. Still, though, the teachers are just as interesting! And we did leave the third issue in this trade on a more serious note – poor Broo!! Though we jumped right back into funny stuff really quickly (did anyone else find themselves dying of laughter when Angel dropped Wolverine from god-only-knows how high?). I’ve really been enjoying this series and getting to know, or learning more about, the characters within. It’s been a fun ride! And now I need to go and find the 3rd Trade 🙂

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Uncanny Avengers #2-#5

To be quite honest, I was about done with this series when I reached issue #4 – the storytelling style just does not do anything for me. Way too much exposition that just trying to cover up the fact that the medium isn’t being used well enough to show the story. We have to be given notes for us to understand what isn’t being communicated by the artist (and by no means do I think this is the artist’s fault – I just think that, in writing the script, no way was suggested to show these aspects of the story other than to include the notes)- and to me, that’s not how a comic should be. Exposition certainly has it’s place, but when it’s used to cover up a shortfall in storytelling, it really is annoying. I don’t think I’ll be picking up any more of this series…

Final Opinion: Drop

Wonder Woman TPB #1

So, I think I went into this one with my expectations set a bit too high – I’ve been hearing so many good things about this series that I kind of expected it to blow me away. And it didn’t. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a good series and it’s done very well. But, being someone that really didn’t know much about Wonder Woman before this, not to mention someone that really doesn’t know the Greek Pantheon all that well, I think there were a lot of things that were just lost on me! Which was sad. I still really enjoyed reading this – I think the storyline is solid and they definitely look like they have some interesting places to go. The Greek Gods that we’ve seen (and that I’ve subsequently looked up in Wikipedia) are all pretty interesting, and definitely are characters in their own right. In a lot of ways, that holds the book up. I think it’s going to be interesting to see if these characters develop any further. Unfortunately, I’m just not sure I can rank it as highly as other people I’m following.

Final Opinion: Solid

Polarity #1

So I picked this issue up because someone from the Gender Through Comics class had mentioned this series – we were talking about people you wouldn’t expect in a comic book and this one came up because the main character is bipolar. That sounded pretty interesting, so when I saw it on the shelf  last week I decided to give it a try. Well…yeah, this really wasn’t worth picking up. I’m not entirely sure who the author is, but they really don’t write characters all that well. And the REALLY don’t write interactions well. This was a hard one to get through…and that is an experience I don’t plan on repeating…

Final Opinion: Drop

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

  1. I used to share your point on Wonder Woman on the first few issues, a lot of people were finding it so much more entertaining than I
    But I have to admit it, now I’m hooked. Loving the art and the mythology. Hermes and War might even be my favorite characters…

    • cr8zygurl says:

      I’m hoping I go the same way, but I suppose time will tell. I’m still trying to figure out if I want to buy the next trade as a hardback book, because it’s not available in paperback…or if I want to try and track down individual issues.

Leave a Reply

