Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

Batman #13-#18

Yeah….Death of the Family was just as amazing as everyone made it out to be. How the heck did you guys wait a month between issues? I devoured the whole thing at once…and I don’t think I could have done it any other way!! That was an awesome story, hands down. I’ve always known about the joker – you can’t really miss him in all of the movies that have come out, but wow, I really liked him as a character here. He completely had me hooked and intrigued – as sadistic as it might be…I kind of want to see him in another story. We don’t really know he’s gone. We saw him fall…but we saw nothing after that. I can hope, right?

Also, THANK GOD for the return of Harper!! I was so excited when I saw her again!! I kind of wonder what they have in store for her…I’ve heard rumors of the next Robin, but I’ve also heard rumors saying someone else is going to fill that role (I’m not entirely sure who)…but I hope they keep her around somehow!

Final Opinion: Must Read!!

Wolverine & The X-Men TPB #1

This was just a fun read. I’m not entirely sure what happened in Schism (though I was amused about how some of the kids were trying to take credit for it) but this story seems to be a direct consequence. It was fun to learn about and follow all of the students – they were all so much fun no matter what they were doing. I was really enjoying getting to know them all. Seem’s like Wolverine has his hands full, huh? It was also really weird to see Xavier at the beginning…I did a double take. Everything I’ve been reading has been post AvX, and I know this series started before that, but I still wasn’t expecting it. Oh…and what the heck happened to Kitty at the end of this book? Seriously?!? Did she just get pregnant in a matter of minutes?

Final Opinion: Must Read

Daredevil TPB #2

Mark Waid is doing an incredible job with this series – I love everything about Daredevil! I mean, I do attribute at least part of that to the novelty of having a blind superhero. I had no idea that was the case until I picked up the first TPB, and I find that concept fascinating to begin with. On top of that, the character are really just enjoyable to read. The storyline that’s running through the entire thing is interesting – the idea of this drive with the secrets of all of the major crime organizations. I also really enjoyed this trade in particular because we got a little Peter Parker (remember that I really haven’t seen much of Peter Parker except as the spectral bit that pops up in Superior Spider-Man. So it was nice to see him in control of his own body!) I will definitely be picking up the next trade of this one!

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Morning Glories TPB Vol #1

The last couple of series I’ve been reading have just been knocking it out of the park! And Morning Glories definitely carried on that tradition. This story was awesome! I was totally intrigued from the very first page straight through to the last, and I’m am having to seriously hold back and not run out and grab the second volume today! Must wait until next Saturday…But yes, this is a story that keeps you guessing, with a cast of characters that are all intriguing in their own right. With having so many different characters, you would think some would shrink into the background, but Nick Spencer has made each person such an individual and given them enough time that we’ve gotten to know them all.

I’m really confused by Jade now…I mean, that was the same Jade that appeared at the end of the book…just, grown up? I am very confused. But I love it! I can see why people are comparing it to Lost. And I really just want more info on what’s going on!

Final Opinion: Must Read!!

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions – Monday Edition

  1. thepuremood says:

    Wow, it’s so insane to me that, not only did you not know Daredevil was blind, you found it a fun novelty to read Peter Parker as Spider-man! I don’t mean that in an insulting way at all, but when you spend so much time in the world of comics and comics fandom, it’s so crazy to be reminded that there’s a world of people who don’t get into discussions about the Vulture. I love those early issues of WatXM – the series gets a little flat shortly thereafter, but the second volume of the trade is certainly worth reading. I wasn’t too interesting in DEATH OF THE FAMILY myself, but again, that was mainly because it didn’t offer any new insight into the Batman/Joker relationship for me as a reader. If that was one of my first Joker stories, I’m sure I would have gone crazy for it. I just thought Grant Morrison did so many interesting things with the two in his BATMAN run and BATMAN & ROBIN, and Snyder didn’t seem to go much further than the ‘you complete me’ line in TDK, Interesting thoughts as always, I really enjoy your posts!

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Haha, yeah, well, that’s the point of all of this, right? All of us crazy newbies don’t know the little things that people take for granted! And yeah…considering I’ve seen the Vulture all of once, I probably wouldn’t be part of that conversation either…

      Wolverine & The X-Men has been a lot of fun to read!! I’ve picked up the second trade, so it’s on my list to read this week…once I get my reading done for my class. That might take a bit longer!

      This would be my first experience with Joker in comic form…I mean, I’ve seen him in the movies, but he’s obviously different here. I kept thinking of Golum from LoTR when he was drawing out his ‘s’ sound – probably not the comparison people want to see…but every time I saw one, that’s the voice that my mind went to…

  2. chasemagnett says:

    I got a chance to talk with Scott Snyder this weekend. His take on “Death of the Family” helps to inform the story a lot. He explained that part of the premise came from the idea, his being a father of young children, that you sometimes want to take a break from the responsibility of caring for a family. It’s why I think “Death of the Family” functions better than “Death in the Family”. It’s much more relatable since Batman is a father figure, not just a super hero.

    It also doesn’t hurt that Mr. Snyder is a super nice guy.

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Okay first off, I am insanely jealous that you got to meet Scott Snyder!! Very few interesting people come to the conventions that happen here!! I’d have to travel quite a ways to see anyone, but I may have to figure out a way to do that one of these times…

      Also, that is some pretty good insight! I’d be interested to hear more of his take on it – I always think it’s really interesting to hear what writers/authors were thinking when they are creating their stories…because sometimes there is more to it than you were thinking…and other times there’s a lot less than you were thinking. I kind of like both cases 😛

  3. Wow! Some quality reads you tackled this week. My #1 Independent series, My #1 DC Series, and my #2 and #3 Marvel Series (Hawkeye being #1). Simply phenomenal one and all!

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Crazy, right? I think reading all of these in a row is, in part, driving me to start really looking at the other series I’m reading and start pulling some off of my subscription list. Because some of the stuff I read can’t hold a candle next to these ones!

Leave a Reply

