Mini-Opinions – Friday Edition

And we are onto a new,crazy week. I still feel like a huge pile of things to get through, and this week I won’t have quite as much time as before. We shall see how this goes!

Fantastic Four #4 and #5

Well…this is getting better. I wouldn’t say that it’s getting good, but we’re making steps in the right direction. I liked the background we got in issue #4, the running story of how Reed and Sue met and eventually married. It was a really cute story, especially when the exact opposite, the lack of trust from Reed, was going on in the main storyline. I think having those two side-by-side was pretty telling when it came to Reed, and I enjoyed what was going on and the cliffhanger we were left on (FINALLY! Something that kind of made you want the next issue…). #5 was a cute story with the kids and Ceasar that was, apparently, setting something up that I assume will be in FF (if the shot of the newspaper article had anything to do with it…). We also got some serious talk between Reed and Sue, and it’s finally starting to feel a like we’re seeing the tiniest slivers of a running storyline. I’m still not sold on this one, though.

I really don’t understand this though. I LOVE Fraction’s writing in Hawkeye and FF. We know that he can make a good running storyline (through FF) and a good episodic series (Hawkeye). I don’t understand why those two titles feel like they’re leaps and bounds ahead of this one when we have the same author. Because it isn’t the art that’s the problem here…there is very little happening in the story that makes you want to keep at it. And I just don’t understand how these opposite things can come from the same author!

Final Opinion: Iffy (2nd in a row)

FF #5

Well…so much for answers!! I get the feeling that Fraction is going to drag this one out for a little bit. We got absolutely no more information about Medusa except that there is obviously something wrong. More of this issue seemed to be about John Storm, who’s not quite right in the head (though I’m not entirely sure why…he seemed fine the last issue, albiet a little obsessed with what he needed to do) and how the public is loosing faith with the FF. I have no idea who the heck showed up with Medusa near the very end, not to mention the other lady, the little girl, and her son. I’m going to need to spend some more time on Wikipedia again…Another good story that’s dropping hints to where we are going, and I really want to see more!

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Guardians of the Galaxy #1

Okay, I have to admit, after the awesome 0.1 issue that came out earlier, I wasn’t sure this would be able to follow, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. A good introduction to characters, giving us enough of a glimpse at each one to get an idea of who they are and what they do. We get a lot of Peter, especially with his dad (who was the last person I was expecting to see, but I liked their exchange and the possibility that his father is using Peter like a puppet…). Stark’s appearance was fun, and I was happy to hear from P.E.P.P.E.R again. I loved the made up swear words – it made me think of Firefly or Battlestar. McNiven’s artwork is just beautiful from panel to panel. I wish we had gotten a little more story, but given this is the first issue, it’s not totally unexpected. Overall, a really good introduction and first issue for this series, and I look forward to more!

Final Opinion: Solid

Okay, I feel like I called what was going to happen with the main storyline this book – someone was going to be offered up to Ultron so that they could get closer and hopefully get some more information. That was an easy enough deduction based off of what happened last issue. Now, the other storyline, with Taskmaster, Red Hulk, and T’Challa, I have no idea what’s happening there. They wanted one of he robot skulls, but I have no idea why. Just that we lost T’Challa and possibly Red Hulk in the process. I hope whatever they need it for is worth that…now, I have no clue who Vision is, other than what I got off of Wikipedia (something that Ultron created that, at one point, fused with a real person), but why he’s basically half a person is totally unexplained. Not totally happy with this one – it feels like Bendis is relying on predictable ideas to drive this story, except we don’t seem to be going much of anywhere. Unless there is moe significance to Vision that I got from the single page we saw of him and what I learned from Wikipedia…

Final Opinion: Iffy (2nd in a row)

Superior Spider-Man #6 AU

Okay, so this was not what I was expecting…and I really don’t know why I was expecting anything other than a little side-story that fits in-between the main story. But I wasn’t expecting it. It was a decent little story, and it does put an end to the debate of whether or not the Spider-Man in Age of Ultron is really Doc Ock. But other than that, it wasn’t really necessary…it wasn’t aweful by any means. It was actually a pretty decent storyline, and maybe it will end up meaning more when we find out more, but for now, it doesn’t seem to have too much substance behind it.

Final Opinion: Iffy

Fantastic Four #5 AU

Is it really bad that I think this is the best issue of Fantastic Four so far, especially considering most of the members of the Fantastic Four have been killed? I loved the little montages the main members did for the kids – I feel like I got more insite into the characters from those brief exchanges that I got in most of the other issues combined so far. I think it probably helps that I already knew that Sue was the only one of the four left (yay for accidentally reading Age of Ultron #3 before these…) so I was just waiting to see how it would all unfold. It was all really sad and really quick, but it was the first Fantastic Four issue that I read straight to the end of without putting it down!

Final Opinion: Solid

X-Men Legacy #8

This was a cute story. There’s not a whole lot happening by way of a plot, but the characters and the interactions are fun, and you learn about both characters through the story. I enjoyed David and Blindfold together – they are kind of adorable even with all of the snark! We also get a little more with the Xavier-doppleganger. Hopefully we’ll learn more about him eventually, but it’s hard to say. We’re not really getting into any overarching storyline yet, at least not one I can see. But still, I always enjoy this series. It’s a wonderful little distraction from everything else, and that fact alone always makes it score points for me.

Final Opinion: Solid

Winter Soldier #15

This was kind of a random pick-up for me. I’ve been seeing the Winter Soldier series pretty much every time I went to my comic store, but because they were so far in, I never really picked up the courage to jump in the middle. I was talking with SM about it, and as we talked, I realized that a new writer started on #15, and since that was almost a current issue and it could possibly be a good starting point, I picked it up. I will say, I had absolutely no idea what was going on. Between a Fury that really isn’t Fury (unless this was the original Nick Fury?) a main character who I’ve only heard about in passing, I have no idea what’s going on. Which, funnily enough, just makes me want to read more! In spite of being completely lost, I thought it was a good first issue, and I want to know more about what the heck is happening, how the first few pages connect to the rest of the story, and I want to know more about Bucky, because I know nothing about him.

Final Opinion: Solid

Avengers Assemble #9 and #10

These two issues were a thoroughly enjoyable read! I picked the series up because I’ve been enjoying DeConnick’s writing on Captain Marvel, so I figured I’d give these a try too. She didn’t disappoint at all. My favorite parts of the whole thing were the little moments – the jabs that few between Captain Marvel, Stark, and Banner at the beginning of #9, the gag with Wolverine and the burnt popcorn, the scoreboard with “Team Happy” and “Team Sad”. I was cracking up. But even more than that, even with so many characters running around, I feel like you got a good sense of everyone because everyone had their moment in the sun. The storyline is interesting and throw in twists that you should have seen coming, but I certainly didn’t (I literally screamed “F&%* DON’T GIVE HIM CRACKERS!!!” at one panel…). I am so happy with this one right now, and I really want more!!

Final Opinion: Must Read!

Young Avengers #3

Hmmmm….so I’m not quite so sure about this one, you guys. I mean, I loved the first issue, and the second was good (but not as good as the first), and now this one just isn’t as good as the second. I don’t like this whole idea of constantly going downward…it worries me. I can only hope that Gillen picks it up after this, now that we kind of have an explanation of what’s going on (somehow crazy-psycho mother is controling all the parents of these characters, but we still don’t know how, or why, or to what end…other than she seems to want to eat their souls). I feel like we only have two modes in this story, massive fight or massive exposition. Neither is really the way to tell a decent story. It’s hard to say if this series will pick up, and the trend so far isn’t promising…

Final Opinion: Iffy

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions – Friday Edition

  1. thepuremood says:

    I’m glad to hear somebody else isn’t super ecstatic about YOUNG AVENGERS. I don’t get off on disliking comics, but that title just doesn’t seem to have a little substance for me! Here’s a bit of geeky back story regarding FF – Medusa first appeared in the mid-60’s in the very first FANTASTIC FOUR stories, penciled and plotted by Jack Kirby with dialogue and story assists by Stan Lee. She was a member of the Frightful Four, who were sort of evil versions of the F4. Kirby was kind of an idea machine, and he’d jump from one to the other in a kind of dream-like way; so Medusa was revealed to be a member of the Inhumans and that’s when the F4 really kicked into gear. So, the end of this issue of FF is kind of a shock because it’s’ her back with the Frightful Four.
    I’m OBSESSED with X-MEN LEGACY, and WINTER SOLDIER is another favourite so I’m glad to see you’re picking that one up. WS seems pretty drenched in continuity so I figured it’d be hard for a new reader…so I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying it!

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Haha, I’ve actually been seeing a lot of mixed reviews for Young Avengers, so we are definitely not alone out there! I liked parts of it, but it just isn’t working as a whole for me.

      As for FF, I had heard that Medusa was part of the Frightful Four (I still need to wikipedia that one…) but I wasn’t sure if that’s who showed up at the end of #5, so thank you for confirming!! I was more confused by the one guy calling Bentley “Son”…though now that one has been explained to me as well. All of you guys that comment are amazing! I learn so much from you!!

      I don’t know why more people don’t read X-Men Legacy!! It’s one of my favorite series and I am always so excited when I pick a new one up! I haven’t been able to talk anyone else I know into trying it, as far as I know at least 😛

  2. cptmrvl says:

    I really enjoy Young Avengers and will probably always have a biased love toward it, but I can see where #3 was a bit of a let down for how high my hopes started off in #1. I kinda find the idea of Teddy’s mom making zombie parents sort of stupid, and I didn’t really get Loki’s explanation of how Billy’s magic is to blame for all of this. Still I am still holding strong that the series will get better, and I think besides the hiccups toward the story, Gillen is a smart writer and can pick it back up!

    Age of Ultron I’ve been keeping up with too, and I enjoy it as I read it. But as I look back at it, I’m just tired of Marvel going from era to era, age to age. Being a new reader you probably don’t feel that as much, if at all, but it seems like every year is just a new cross-over storyline that doesn’t let the dust just settle in the Marvel Universe.

    I have been meaning to pick-up Superior Spider-Man and Guardians of the Galaxy, and have been on the fence about either Fantastic Four or FF. I feel almost obligated to pick up Fantastic Four, but FF I am thinking might just sit on the burners for me. The newest line-up just aren’t my favorite heroes, so I think I’ll probably just let it pass.

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Everyone is going to like what they like! My best friend SM (who I mention a lot on this blog) don’t see eye-to-eye on a lot if series that we’re both reading. She loves Young Avengers as well, and doesn’t have any plans on putting it down where as I am having a hard time justifying picking it up! To each their own, and as long as you enjoy it, you should definitely keep reading!

      If you’re trying to decide between Fantastic Four and FF, I would really push you toward FF – much better series as a whole, in my opinion. I’m probably not going to be continuing Fantastic Four, but I will keep up with FF going forward.

Leave a Reply

