Mini-Opinions, Attempt #2

X-Men Legacy #7

I’m not sure if I could tell you why I love X-Men Legacy so much. David is a really interesting character, first off. And really, the series never takes itself that seriously. When there are so many other series that I’m reading that do take a very serious tone, this is always a nice break. Plus a lot of the supporting characters are interesting too – I really want to know more about Blindfold, and the two are interesting together. This issue seems like it might be the start of a new arc, seeing as we finished one with the last issue. Most of it was filler, albiet entertaining filler. We really didn’t get the next arc until the very end. But I’m excited to see where this goes!

Final Opinion: Solid

Age of Ultron #2

I was kind of excited for this one, especially after the first issue that I thought was done pretty well. Unfortunately, we just seemed to get more of the same…and since we’ve already seen a bunch, it just didn’t hold the same shock value. We got to see the West Coast with Black Widow (I hope we get an explanation of that eye…) and…Cresent-Man? Not at all sure who he was…They have gotten themselves holed up in one of Nick Fury’s hideout (the wall of photos was kinda cool). Then we go back to New York and hear more of Spider-Man’s story (I’m still not convinced that man is Ock…in spite of what we’ve been told). And we end with Cap again, except this time he’s standing up saying he has an idea. It felt far too familiar to the last one to really be that shocking. Though I think the talk of Ultron taking superhero’s it what brought him back in. Why do I think someone is going to be playing bait…or possibly Trojan Horse? That’s my guess anyway…All in all, though, more of the same. I’m hoping the next one gives us a little more story.

Final Opinion: Iffy

Secret Avengers #2

I hate to say it, guys, but I really wasn’t expecting this one to really interest me. After some of the other series I read between the first issue and this issue, I though my opinion would change for the worse – unfortunately I was right. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of Taskmaster, who this issue seems to focus on. Beyond that, we have A.I.M, who is doing…something. I don’t know if we’re supposed to know the council members…I certainly have no clue who they are. The ending was interesting…and certainly points to some sort of storyline that could be coming in the future. But the whole thing just felt…disjointed? We kept hoping from thing to thing without much order and I just found myself having a hard time keeping up with it all. Maybe the next one will be better…

Final Opinion: Iffy

Batman #0 – #6

Okay…I completely get why everyone has really been enjoying this series. Wow…just, Wow. I tore through six issues so quickly that I feel like my head is still spinning. I’m not entirely sure I was supposed to read Issue #0 first (I think it actually came out later and the rest of the issues I’ve read…) but I loved the story going through Issues #1 – #6. Underground organizations and secret lairs and Batman going crazy with pages that require you to turn the comic sideways and upside-down to read. I was in love! Really, it doesn’t take much! I think the only thing that was bothering me was the faces…many of the guy faces (Bruce, Dick, and the Mayor-Candidate) all look so similar that I had to rely on their clothes to tell me who was who from panel to panel. But really, the story was good enough to make that pretty minor next to everything else.

Final Opinion: Must Read

Saga TPB Vol #1

Wow…two amazing new series in a row! I picked up Saga after a few of you guys recommended it. It had been on my list of things to try, but I was somewhat anti-TPB when I started collecting and didn’t get this at first (I do not know why…). Man, what I have I been missing! This is an awesome story – the background and the war and the reasoning is all pretty interesting and I look forward to seeing more of the world. But my favorite part of this story is Hazel’s narration! When it comes to stories for me, I’ve always been a fan of knowing the details of how we get from the beginning to the end. I’m not as worried about the ending, so spoilers for upcoming books or movies have never bothered me – it still doesn’t give you all the details. So knowing that Hazel is alive and lives a long life and she’s narrating everything is awesome – because we know (well…hope?) that things end well. But now we get to see how. I’m really looking forward to picking up the rest of the available issues for this one soon!!

Final Opinion: Must Read

Thor: God of Thunder #5 and #6

So I managed to get my hands on #5 on Saturday! Typically anything I pick up on a Saturday ends up going on the list of comics to read the next week…but I couldn’t wait with this one. So you guys get this a little earlier than planned! I was very pleased with #5 – great continuation of the story we’ve been reading so far. We finally got our answer to what happened with Young Thor in that cave and what happened when current Thor appeared in front of Old Thor and all of that. The story is by no means complete yet. I’m sure we’re going to see plenty more with the next arc! #6 is was origin story for Gorr, which was interested to see, but not quite as interesting as the main storyline. Between the artist change a the flip in pace, I wasn’t as crazy about it, but it did it’s job well. It’s obviously setting something up for us to know come Issue #7.

Final Opinion:

#5: Must Read

#6: Solid

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mini-Opinions, Attempt #2

  1. andythursby says:

    Crescent man, as you call him, is moon knight 🙂 he’s a bit crazy.

  2. chasemagnett says:

    Glad to hear you liked “Saga”! As you start picking up floppies of the series, make sure to check out the letters column, it’s a lot of fun too.

Leave a Reply

