Comic Newbie Week in Summary (3/6 – 3/12)

Overall

This week has been really interesting. I think I’m starting to get an idea of what series and kinds of stories I enjoy and which ones I’m starting to get a lot iffy-er about for one reason or another. I’m starting to think about going through my list and maybe removing some series in a couple of weeks, because I don’t want to keep buying a story that I’m not enjoying…especially when I do have a lot of stories that I love and can’t wait for. I’m going to think over that more this coming week and see what I can do.

I’m also thinking about scaling back a little on what I’m doing here. I spent a little more time this week doing things that I used to do before comics exploded into my life and took over for a little while. I wouldn’t trade that time for anything – I’m so glad I found these stories and this medium. They’re amazing and every now and then I find myself catching my breath on a particular panel or plot twist. But I think I need to rebalance a little bit after the initial explosion. I spent some time this week reconnecting with the rest of my life, and reminding myself that there are more things I want to do as well as read comics!

So, next week, I’m going to try a slightly different format. I’m going to post opinions twice during the week – I’m thinking Friday/Saturday and Monday/Tuesday. Each post, I’ll post smaller opinions for multiple issues and series in one place. No more summaries of the plot, just a quick opinion and a ranking/category at the very end: Must Read, Solid, Iffy, and Drop. Obviously any issue rated “Drop” wont be picked up again. Then I’ll post this summary on Wednesdays. I’m not sure if this format will work, but I figure I’ll try it for a week or two and then reassess.

Category Rankings

Easiest To Pick Up Without Prior Knowledge:

Nova #1 – Okay, I was wrong with the statement that I made in my very first Weekly Summary. It’s not that Independent Comics will have an advantage in this category. It’s any #1 issues…But really, who is surprised by that? This was a great story, and you didn’t need to know anything to jump in on this one. Pretty much everything you need to know is explained throughout the issue, and anything that isn’t is something I would think we will find out later.

Most Likely to Hold Your Attention:

Thor #2 – Thor is an incredible story and each issue we read just gets more and more amazing. This issue is really our first issue with Gorr, the God Butcher. Focusing on Young Thor and his first encounter, while only giving us glimpses of the other two Thor’s, was a really good decision. We get a good look at just who Gorr is and who we must be dealing with in the other two times, but not switching too much between the different times makes the story more cohesive and easier to understand. It also helps to keep your interest because you know, as long as you keep reading, you don’t have to worry about being jumped out of your story. We get the entire thing all at once so that there’s no questions once the fight is over.

Most Surprising Issue:

Age of Ultron #1 – It seemed like most people have not been fond of events for the most part, so I really wasn’t expecting much out of this issue. And then I was blindsided by an issue that I really enjoyed! Simple story, absolutely beautiful art. It threw us straight into the heart of the story but gave us a good intro into the new world 0rder. I loved this issue…and I’m really hoping the rest of the event continues like this.

Most Surprising Ending:

All New X-Men #8 – Maybe this is because I don’t know Jean’s history as much as everyone else does, but Jean using her powers to end this issue totally blew me out of the water. It was scary, ominous, and incredible all at the same time, though I lean a lot of more heavily on the first two. And what she can do scares me, especially when I’m not quite sure how sane she currently is….

Most Repetitive:

Fantastic Four #2 – This issue really felt like we were rehashing everything that happened in the first issue. There were a couple of things that were new, but for the most part, we didn’t need to see the things that happened here, and I really think the story would have been better served it it just got them off the planet and into their adventure quicker.

Least Likely to Hold Your Attention:

Captain America #1 – I don’t know what it was about this issue. It took me multiple times of reading the beginning just to get into the story, and even then, I wasn’t entirely interested in what was going on. I’m debating whether or not I’ll pick up the second issue of this series…but I might be leaning toward ‘no’.

Most Wikipedia Searches Required:

Young Avengers #1 – If my actual blog post didn’t tip you off to this one, then I don’t know what will. I had SO MANY QUESTIONS about this issue as I was reading it. I didn’t know any of the characters and I only had a vague idea of what was going on! Not to say I wasn’t interested…I was. But I was so confused the entire time!

Most Confusing:

Avengers #7 – This time around, I don’t mean this category as a bad thing. I’m enjoying this series, though I’m dying to know more and I still feel like we’re getting set up for some sort of huge event that will be happening. But there were so many elements that were going on through this issue, between the space stations that were being destroyed or not being destroyed, the thing that was attacking them, the White Event and the picking of StarBrand, Nightwing and Captain Universe’s attempt at an explanation of what was going on. It was a really hard one to get through with all of these different moving parts. There just seems like there’s so much to set up in this world, and we’re going about it very slowly. I can only hope things start to make sense soon!

Worst Pick:

Uncanny X-Force #2 – Yeah…this series will probably not be picked up again. There was almost nothing I liked about this issue, and it just kept getting worse as we went on. With a storyline that was jumping around indiscriminately and characters that I could not make myself care about, I was done with this issue before I put the thing down.

Personal Favorite:

Thor #3 – Anyone who has been following me knows that I’m a fan of this series. I love the storyline, the artwork, and the storytelling throughout this series. This particular issue I really enjoyed because they took something that could have been very mundane (i.e. running around from world to world to find gods) and kept it interesting with the pacing and the narration that was going on. Then they turn around and start drawing parallels between the different timelines (particularly the current Thor and Young-Thor) as the two go to the cave to take on Gorr. I thought the manner that this story was told was just so well done, and kept you interested when, by all definitions, you could call this issue a filler. There was very little action, and they didn’t tell us anything we didn’t already know. We know Gorr the Godbutcher is back. We have a vague idea of what he’s capable of. There was very little in this story that needed to be said with the exception of the cave, but I was still engrossed through the entire thing. I tip my hat to Jason Aaron and Esad Ribic for making that work so well!

Questions/Answers/Info From This Week:

Characters with Unknown Backgrounds:

  1. Rocket Raccoon
  2. Gamora
  3. Ultron
  4. Sharon Carter
  5. Noh-Varr
  6. Hulkling
  7. Wiccan
  8. Scarlet Witch

Unknown Plotlines:

  1. History of Nova Corps
  2. Star Brand – Because this was apparently a concept that has been used before…
  3. History of Hydra
  4. Apparently Cap’s shield breaking isn’t that uncommon

Unanswered Questions:

  1. What’s with the numbered Colins of A.I.M.?
  2. Why do Deathbird and Carol call each other ‘Sister’?
  3. What is Universe 3281809? This was the only other universe that we saw that might have had a White Event…

Comic Issues to be Read This Week:

  1. Young Avengers #2 – I had to read more of this series, just to see where it was going, and what was up with Hulking’s mother/nanny/person.
  2. Fantastic Four #3 – I’m hoping we finally get the main storyline started here, since we spent the last two issues on set-up. I’m hoping this starts going somewhere interesting…
  3. FF #3 – I’m looking forward to reading more about these characters. They all seems unique and interesting and I really like the writing so far! I can’t wait to see where this goes!
  4. Thor #4, #5, and #6 – SO EXCITED for these ones! I want to know how this ends…and where we go with Issue #6!
  5. Secret Avengers #2 – I’m actually kind of interested to see what I think of this series again after all of the other reading I’ve done. I liked issue #1 when I first got my hands on it, but since I’ve read no more since then, I’m kind of wondering if it’ll stay in the same position…
  6. Age of Ultron #2 – Do I really have to say anything? PLEASE EXPLAIN MORE! PLEASE!
  7. Uncanny X-Men #3 – I’m interested to see how the appearance of the Avengers is going to affect what’s going on…and I’m hoping it’ll be more intersting than the last issue…
  8. X-Men Legacy #8 – I’m excited for this one! Considering we basically finished an arc last issue, it’ll be interesting where we go next. Not to mention the cliffhanger
  9. Mind the Gap #8 – This might be the first one I read. I NEED to know what happens next!
  10. Batman #0-#18 – Picking up the latest issue of this one…but I still haven’t gotten around to starting the series as a whole. Boy, I really hope I end up liking this series, otherwise, I’m going to have a lot of issues that I don’t want to read….this may not have been the smartest idea…
  11. Scarlet #1-#5 – Didn’t have time for this one last week, so maybe this week?
  12. Saga TPB #1 – I’ve heard so many good things about this series that I was really excited to pick this one up. I hope it’s as good as everyone has been saying!
  13. Wolverine and the X-Men TPB #1 – Didn’t get time to read this week, so hopefully next week!
  14. Daredevil TPB #1 – Same as above
  15. Avengers Vs X-Men – Just trying to find time to read this one…it’s usually on the bottom of the pile because I know what happens, but I still want to see all of the details. I’ll get to it eventually.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

