Well This is New and Interesting…(Captain America #1)

Okay guys, there’s going to be a slew of opinions today – I’ve got a bunch that I wanted to get to this week, but the week has been so busy that they’re still sitting around. But today I have no plans! Which means lots of reading and commenting will occur! First up, Captain America.

I haven’t heard a lot about this series…and what little I’ve heard has been all over the place. Some people love it. Other’s hate it. But I really never heard anything consistent about it, so I figured I’d pick it up myself and see what was happening.

And picked it up I did…and then again…and again. And I don’t mean this in a good way. I had a really hard time getting into this story at first. It took me three or four reads to get past the beginning! I was not a fan of the art during the flashback on the first few pages. I don’t think it’s the same art as the rest of the issue, but I’d always get to page two and just…go somewhere else. Not entirely sure why…I just didn’t like it.

Get past that, and past the fight scene that involved a rather cheesy ending (“No men falling out of the sky” as Cap parachutes in right behind them…maybe a bit too much…) and we meet Sharon – who I assume, after running a few internet searches, is Sharon Carter. Can I just say that Cap trying to flirt is more than a little awkward?? Anyway, we eventually get to a train that is where it shouldn’t be, but there is (mysteriously) only room for one more (since when has capacity ever been a problem on the subway? Don’t people usually just squeeze till there is physically no more room? Cap looked like he had plenty of space around him). So Cap jumps on it alone, and is suddenly bound by the pole he was holding onto, and whisked into another dimension.

And suddenly, this comic turns into a sci-fi novel, complete with creepy babies, weird medical experiments, and talking robots with heads in their stomach. Now don’t get me wrong, I love a good Science Fiction story. But this…seemed weird. I’m not sure what to make of it yet! We have Cap with a baby in another dimension…I’m can’t fathom where they are going with this, other than Cap is going to have to find a way home. I will probably pick up the next one of this series and see if I get an idea of where it’s going and reevaluate from there.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

