So THAT’S Where the Time Machine Went…(All New X-Men #1)

On that crazy Monday when I picked up All New X-Men #1, I also picked up #3, #6, and #7 (which I didn’t want to read until I had #2, #4, and #5). I’d already heard a lot of good things about this series, and from what people were saying, I was pretty much expecting to like it. I’m glad to say it didn’t disappoint!

All New X-Men 1

 

Okay, first things first, the blurb about what has happened to the X-Men prior to this issue, before the story even begins…Wow…just…I need more information now. When did all of this happen? This sounds enough like the little blurb we got in Indestructible Hulk #1 that I’m assuming the two are the same event. Thank you for explaining everything that happened, but but but…I wanna know more!!! Merging this with the Hulk question below, and elevating status. Because this is a little too much to take in with just a paragraph…

Overall, I thought this was a really good issue. I really like the artwork. I loved the colors and the shading. I also think the panels were laid out really well, so that you had to flip the page for big reveals. Being the type of person that tends to scan a page before I read, if a reveal is on the same page, I already know before I read the lead-up to it, which is always kind of disappointing. So having it laid out with the reveal on the next page is awesome.

I think we had a really good, quick introduction to almost every character, which was nice for those of us that may not know every single X-Men 🙂 The only two people who showed up that didn’t really get a mention was the girl with the flaming sword and, when Hank went back in time, the blond boy. Names were never mentioned for either of them, so I’m not sure who they are! This would only really bother you if you were paying attention to details, or you’re crazy like me and want to know every last scrap of information. It was a good intro to most of the characters that we saw. At the same time, there was plenty going on to drive the story forward. Even though most of this issue was set up and exposition, I was really interested in what was going on. We know something is going on with Scott…we don’t completely know why, which I think is what’s really compelling. You want to know his motivations more than anything.

And then, Hank going back in time presents a whole new path that this could go down. We’re bringing teenage versions of the X-Men into the future…oh that could get messy quick.

All in all, this was an amazing first issue – a good mix of action and character building/reintroductions that leaves you with so many questions. It drives you absolutely crazy, but that is what a first issue should do…it should make you want to read more!

 

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • Scarlet Witch Depowering Mutants, War Against Phoenix Force – High Priority. This was mentioned in Hulk #1, but became much bigger when it came to All New X-Men. I’m going to need to find this info sometime soon!
  • What’s up with the numbered Colins of A.I.M? – Medium Priority. They seem to be spanning a few different series…
  • Who is this new Nick Fury? – Medium Priority. If he’s going to be a major character in Secret Avengers, I kind of want to know who he is… **Can be found in the Battle Scars series** Thanks thegothamrogue!
  • Previous Team for Hawkeye and Black Widow – Medium Priority. I think it might be the last series of Secret Avengers, and I wonder if something that happened there will be the reason they joined here.
  • What happened to the original Nick Fury? – Low Priority. Just curious.
  • Incident where Kate took over for Hawkeye while he was a ninja – Low Priority. It would be fun to know, but certainly not necessary!
  • Shield Command Structure – Low Priority. We probably don’t need this for most of the stories, but it would be nice to know.
  • Who Else was in the Sinister Six? – Low Priority. Mentioned in Spiderman #1 and #3, but not necessary to know. Like always, just curious..
  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “So THAT’S Where the Time Machine Went…(All New X-Men #1)

Leave a Reply

