Did We Figure out the Formula? (Indestructible Hulk #3)

I picked up a lot of comics on last Monday when I had the gigantic stack. Lots of issues that were out of order or that I was missing the first issue of I didn’t end up reading till I tracked down the rest, but I also used the time to grab the most recent of some of the series I had already been reading. I was still learning just which series were up to which issue, and I didn’t realize that Indestructible Hulk already had a 3rd issue out!

Indestructible Hulk 3

 

Okay, so here is my fear when it comes to Indestructible Hulk – this is going to turn into a series of “Oh My God! Its a great, scary, powerful enemy that we cannot control!” Toss Hulk In. Hulk beats enemy. Everyone Rejoices. That’s kind of what this storyline felt like. Its what the second half of the storyline from Indestructible Hulk #1 felt like as well. It worries me, because I really find myself liking Banner more with each issue, and I don’t want it to turn into that. I guess we’ll have to wait and see what #4 brings as well.

The best parts of this, in my opinion, were outside of the main storyline. I like the lab assistants, even though we only got a little blurb from three of them. They all seem unique and interesting in their own right, and I’m really excited to get to know them more! Also…Rob. The ending with Rob, and Hulk destroying him with a single punch. That was great 🙂 But it does worry me that the parts I enjoyed the best were outside the main story for the issue.

One totally random question here – what is with all of these different numbered Colins? We had Colin Fourty-Four selling the Extremis in Iron Man 1. Now we have Colin Thirty-Three (who, in my opinion, looks exactly the same, just older…) taking in a prisoner and then piloting Quintronic. Both worked for A.I.M., but what are they? Brothers? Clones? Do all high ranking officials in A.I.M. take the name Colin for some reason? This is another question to add to the list below…

This was a short one – I guess I’m kind of in a holding pattern to see what happens next. This wasn’t my favorite Hulk issue, but I’m hoping that this is more “growing pains” than anything else. There’s a lot to establish, and Mark Waid seems to be taking his time establishing it all.

 

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • What’s up with the numbered Colins of A.I.M? – Medium Priority. They seem to be spanning a few different series…
  • Who is this new Nick Fury? – Medium Priority. If he’s going to be a major character in Secret Avengers, I kind of want to know who he is… **Can be found in the Battle Scars series** Thanks thegothamrogue!
  • Previous Team for Hawkeye and Black Widow – Medium Priority. I think it might be the last series of Secret Avengers, and I wonder if something that happened there will be the reason they joined here.
  • What happened to the original Nick Fury? – Low Priority. Just curious.
  • Incident where Kate took over for Hawkeye while he was a ninja – Low Priority. It would be fun to know, but certainly not necessary!
  • Shield Command Structure – Low Priority. We probably don’t need this for most of the stories, but it would be nice to know.
  • Who Else was in the Sinister Six? – Low Priority. Mentioned in Spiderman #1 and #3, but not necessary to know. Like always, just curious.
  • War Against Phoenix Force – Low Priority. This was mentioned in Hulk #1, but not integral. Just curious.
  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

