Coming Around the Final Bend…(Hawkeye #6 and #7)

Hawkeye 6

 

Hawkeye #6 is probably my absolute favorite of the series so far. First off, Aja was back, which just made me happy ๐Ÿ™‚ Second, the storytelling – yet again a ridiculously simple story that was just done so beautifully! The jumps around in time only made you want to keep reading because you had to see how this whole thing tied up. I will admit, this was the worst issue in terms of bringing out the River Tam impersonation (I think I reread this thing 3 or 4 times, each time having to flip around to things I had already read to figure out where in the chronological storyline I was). But at the end of the day, it was so well done! Sorry, yes, I’m repeating myself ๐Ÿ˜›

I kind of wonder if the tracksuit mafia is going to mostly be the main source of conflict in this series…they do like to turn up often enough! Especially since Clint has made himself such an enemy to them now…I suppose we will have to wait and see.

I loved seeing some of the other superhero characters outside of their superhero roles. Wolvering and Spiderman going on about Dog Cops – that made my day. Seeing Stark was kind of nice too…though we tend to see plenty of Stark outside of his superhero role in his own comic. Stark does seem to like inserting himself into other comics though, doesn’t he? I seem to run into him outside of his own series often enough!

Also, I can’t say enough about the very beginning of this. Fraction took a beginning that we were getting used to seeing, one where we were thrust in the middle of the worst part of the action, and totally turned it on it’s head. I am totally guilty of thinking they were trying to diffuse a bomb or something…and wondering why it was Clint who was doing it, not Stark. And then I turned the page and felt like a dummy.ย Well played, Fraction. Well played. It was good timing too…because that beginning was just starting to seem formulaic on his part. Not so much anymore ๐Ÿ™‚

At the same time, we are still doing so much character building…I mean, at this point maybe it’s more “character validation” than character building, because we know Clint is a good guy, but every action he takes just seems to justify it more, and in slightly different ways. This time we do get to see a moment of doubt and fear, but he still does the right thing in-spite of that, after some “encouragement” from Kate (Thank you Kate). And I loved the very end where he invited the kids over to watch their show…if they can figure out how to use the TV (and you know they will…kids always seem faster on the uptake when it comes to electronics…)

Yes…have you gotten tired of the gushing yet? Are you still reading? If so, Bravo. Have a cookie! Please!

Hawkeye 7

 

Hawkeye #7…I really hope I’m not going to upset people with this, but it wasn’t my favorite. I was good, don’t get me wrong. Two really touching stories that certainly couldn’t have been told in any other series, though I kind of wish both could have been a little longer! It was another artwork change (twice!), but I liked both well enough. The cover is awesome – I love the little hurricane making the letters in the title fly away!

All together though, it’s just not my favorite Hawkeye issue – I guess #6 still holds that title for me. Considering that they did this on much tighter timelines than usual, I am impressed, but maybe I’m just a snob and I like my carefully crafted, takes-way-too-long-to-produce stories that have been coming out of this series. Sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย I’m still looking forward to #8 coming out (This Wednesday!! OH MY GOD!!) and cant wait to see what else they end up doing!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

