What’s My Name? (Superior Spider-Man #1, #2, and #3)

So on that second day of comic book shopping that involved the overly-large pile of comics being bought, one of the titles I was looking for was Superior Spider-Man. According to SM, it was a really good series, and it wasn’t easy to get hold of the first issue anymore. I’m assuming she meant getting your hands on a first printing of the first issue, because I found plenty of second printings up for sale when I got to my shop (keep in mind, of course, that by this point, I’d only just learned what “Second Printing” and “Variant” even meant…). I was excited – I’d been given a stack of promotional stuff on my first day of buying comic books, and one of them contained a couple of pages of Superior Spider-Man that looked pretty good.

I should also mention, I knew nothing about the Doctor Octopus taking ove Peter Parker’s body thing until I brought this home and SM explained it to me. Apparently it is quite the controversy…but having never read any other Spider-Man comics, I really don’t have a frame of reference for comparison. I guess I could go out and pick up the last few Amazing Spider-Man issues, but I did mention my OCD-like tendency to want a complete story, right? Somehow I don’t think I’m going to track down 700 issues…assuming they can all be tracked down! So I start from here instead.

Superior Spider-Man 1

Superior Spider-Man #1. Again, going back to the fact that I don’t have a frame of reference to compare these to, I did really like this issue. The artwork was good, and it also just ‘felt’ right. I know that’s kind of a cop out, but I can’t think of a better way to say it. The story and the art felt like they matched. There wasn’t anything jarring or out of place. I really enjoyed it. I did find the “mad scientist” look that Otto has while at work a little strange…is that was Peter typically looked like at work? It seems a little wierd from what little I know about the character…you would think his colleagues would figure out something was off. But whatever – not my story to write, in the end. I think the mad scientist look works perfectly for Otto.

Story-wise, this was solid. Again, it’s introductions and learning about what really is a brand new character. I thought there was a nice blend of character building and action that kept me interested the entire way through the comic. I liked the little comparisons that you got from others that showed when Otto was acting out of the typical “Peter Parker” character that he’s supposed to be portreying – it’s a nice little nod to older fans, and it lets us newer fans know how the two characters differ. And the end….oh man, the end! I nearly screamed! But I’m glad for it, and I’m sure there are people who have been part of the fandom for a while that are even more glad for it!

I kind of want to find out who the Sinister Six were originally, though. If this little rag-tag group was supposed to be their replacement, I’d like to know who they were supposedly replacing.

I will mention, the scene with Otto and Mary Jane…that was just creepy…which only served to make the next issue worse…

Superior Spider-Man 2

Okay…creep factor when up ten-fold with this issue. I don’t know why this weirds me out so much, but the idea Doc Ock in Peter’s body trying to (at the very least) date Mary Jane – it just feels so wrong! Not that it wasn’t told well – I liked the little jumps in time where we saw a panel or two or each date so we know how it went. I like Ock’s little spider-bot invention, which really is a good idea. I just really didn’t like Ock’s and MJ’s interactions (personally…again, it was all done well) until the very end. His decision in the end was really mature…and very much not super-villain like. Which would be the whole point, I guess.

I really don’t have much to say about this one. still loving the art. Not a huge fan of the story. It was alright, but it wasn’t amazing. I did like the fact that Charlie is on to him…or at least has an inkling that something is very wrong. She obviously has all of the pieces (I guess she was there during or after Doc Ock and Peter switched bodies? I’m not quite sure) but hasn’t quite put them together yet. I’m interested to see where that ends up going.

One little nit-picky note – Why is it that, any other time Peter’s ghost/spirit/whatever shows up, its dressed the same as Ock (i.e., if he’s in civilian clothes, then so is Peter, and if he’s dressed as Spiderman, then so is Peter), but the very first time we see Peter in this issue, that isn’t the case (Peter is in street clothes, but Ock is in Spiderman clothes)? I just found that odd…

Superior Spider-Man 3

Issue #3 is by far my favorite issue so far. A good mix of humor, storytelling, and character building for everyone, and blended together in such a way that you had to keep reading. Bravo to Dan Slott for this one, because this specific issue ranks pretty high on my (very short) list of all the issues of any series I’ve read so far.

The beginning was amazing…and probably a not-so-subtle dig at DC and Batman. Jameson creates a “Bat Signal” which Ock promptly destroys. Obviously any enemy who saw that signal would know exactly where Spiderman was going and only an idiot would create one *cough* *cough*. We go right into some more character building for Charlie and another hint that she knows more than she’s letting on.

And oh, hey, part of a mystery solved! Apparently Ock and The Vulture were originally part of the Sinister Six…well that would make Ock’s reaction in the first book make more sense! Now I just wonder who else was in it – and if they are going to be making an appearance.

And then comes my favorite part of the entire thing – a trip through Doc Ock’s memories for Peter! This was an amazing idea, to interweave Ocks past in with the present. All we’ve really seen of Ock is that he’s some sort of mad scientist that likes to hit on women and rather enjoys the limelight that he’s getting while being Spider-Man – this was an amazing change of pace and a great chance to get to know Ock a little better. Having Ock snap at the end because of one of the memories we’ve seen was scary, but still so well done. Really, I have nothing bad to say about this one at all. Thoroughly enjoyed from beginning to end!

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • Who Else was in the Sinister Six? – Low Priority. Mentioned in Spiderman #1 and #3, but not necessary to know. Like always, just curious.
  • War Against Phoenix Force – Low Priority. This was mentioned in Hulk #1, but not integral. Just curious.
  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “What’s My Name? (Superior Spider-Man #1, #2, and #3)

  1. andythursby says:

    For your OCD, you could get away with reading Amazing Spider-Man 698 – 700. That’s the arc relating to how doc Ock ended up in there. 🙂

    • cr8zygurl says:

      I’ve actually thought about doing it…but there are so many other titles on my list that it keeps getting pushed to the bottom. I guess it’s not something I’m dying to read for myself?

Leave a Reply

