Continuing With The Golden Boy (Hawkeye #2 and #3)

So, when I bought that crazy huge stack of comics, I didn’t even bother to pace myself when it came to Hawkeye. It was the best comic I had read in the first few comics I picked up, and from what SM was telling me, it only got better. So I grabbed all 6 issues that I didn’t own at the time 🙂 I wont talk about them all in a single post (can you imagine the moster post that would be?) but you will probably see a lot of repetative, totally boring comments. I’m sorry! I like this guy and this series far too much!

I’m going to do these two issues at a time. That (rather conveniently) puts the two issues about The Tape together, so it works out pretty well:

Hawkeye 2

Hawkeye #2 – The only thing this issue did was solidify exactly why I loved the series as a whole. Again, it’s beautiful storytelling with such a simple idea and plot. Lovely artwork. Can I just say that I loved the never-ending amounts of purple? Purple is my favorite color, so it just made me happy 🙂 And the little moments and little lines just made me so very happy. I think that’s something that I love when it comes to story telling. I love little moments, a single thing that happens or a single line that’s said that’s just hilarious or well placed or executed. I dont quite know how to explain it. I think it’s one of the main reasons I like Whedon’s work (he always interjects these hilarious moments and lines, even in the most serious and dire of situations), and I feel like you get a lot of that in this series as well. Just a couple of examples:

1) The newspaper title on the second page : “Everything Aweful: Oh God Somebody Do Something” – I cracked up laughing when I caught site of it.

2) Clint drinking from the coffee pot after spilling his mug of coffee 🙂

3) The half page newspaper article about the hotel, if you look at the bottom left corner, it’s actually an article about the story in this issue. There’s very little of it there, but I thought it was a nice touch!

4) Clint constantly repeating “Casual” as they’re walking through the room of guests/bad people.

5) Clint and Kate continuing their bantering as they head in two different directions to track down the thieves

6) “And that’s how we robbed the robbers who were robbing the robbers” – I love that line ❤

Another thing that I should mention is something that I was talking about in my last post with Wolverine – I usually don’t like a whole lot of exposition in the form of thoughts or voice-overs from the main character. Usually they’re overdone or they tell us things we can see for ourselves. This issue (and series as a whole) takes that exposition and just does it brilliantly. Most of the time, the thoughts we are privy to help to build or explain a character and drive (instead of detract) from the main story. Even when they do tell us things we can see, they do it to make a point (case in point, when Clint talks about all the little steps to shoot an arrow. Then we see the same little steps when Kate is taking out their pursuers…I thought that was brilliant) and it always ends up coming back later in the story. It’s always a delight to see that happen – it’s beautiful storytelling. I cannot say enough about how much I enjoy reading these issues!

I am curious to know who Kate was prior to the Marvel Now series, though. It seems like she might have been a character before this…I will have to search for that one as well 🙂 Adding this to the list below.

Hawkeye 3

 

Okay, so I don’t think there’s much I can say about Hawkeye #4 that I didn’t already say in Hawkeye #3 (like I said, the praise gets repetative….and lengthy. I feel like I’m gushing so much I’m sending a waterfall to all of you that happen to be reading!) A few things that I really want to mention:

1) I loved the numbering of all the bad decision he made that day. Not only was it a great source of comedy, it also acted kind of like a countdown to drive you toward the end. You always wanted to see just what the next bad decision was, and how much worse could it be than the last one. It was a great way to push the story forward.

2) The boomerang arrow – that was a wonderful example of an innocuous-seeming comment being the key to the ending. Beautiful.

Okay, I’m done. No more gushing, because it’s already been said 🙂

 

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • Who is this new Nick Fury? – Medium Priority. If he’s going to be a major character in Secret Avengers, I kind of want to know who he is…
  • Previous Team for Hawkeye and Black Widow – Medium Priority. I think it might be the last series of Secret Avengers, and I wonder if something that happened there will be the reason they joined here.
  • Incident where Kate took over for Hawkeye while he was a ninja – Low Priority. It would be fun to know, but certainly not necessary!
  • Shield Command Structure – Low Priority. We probably don’t need this for most of the stories, but it would be nice to know.
  • Who Else was in the Sinister Six? – Low Priority. Mentioned in Spiderman #1 and #3, but not necessary to know. Like always, just curious.
  • War Against Phoenix Force – Low Priority. This was mentioned in Hulk #1, but not integral. Just curious.
  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

