Time For Some Thrilling Heroics! (Iron Man #1)

Iron Man 1

Iron Man was the second title I picked up on that very first day at the comic store- mostly because Tony Stark was one of my two favorite characters in The Avengers movie (the other one being Banner…but we’ll get to that) and I was curious to see if he was similar in comic form.

Art-wise, this was a HUGE change from Hawkeye – crisp lines, lots of colors and shading. It was gorgeous! Though sometimes people’s faces looked a little…weird? In the second half, even with the quip about him shaving off his beard, I was having a hard time recognizing Tony! At least to my eye. I still thought the artwork was very well done, just a little confusing at times.

Story-wise, I thought it was good. Not amazing or anything, but good. Entertaining for sure. Stark is very much the same sort of character in comic form as he was in the movie- I loved the little quips between him and Pepper, and the general snark that is Tony Stark. It always keeps me entertained. Extremis was also a really interesting concept. I’m sure to anyone who has been reading Iron Man for a while, this wasn’t the case, but it was brand new to me, and I really liked the idea. Programmable Humans? There are SO many possibilities just from that idea – it’s kind of mind blowing. I would be really interested to see that idea shaped into something much bigger!

So, overall, it was a solid story, and pretty to look at. I don’t think I’d say it was the same level as Hawkeye, but I enjoyed reading it!

Also, I’m going to start keeping a little list below called “Plots to Find in Older Comics”. Essentially, its going to be anything that’s mentioned in the comics I’m reading now that I would like to know more about and possibly find where they originated from. I’ll also give them a rank (i.e. Low, Medium, High) in terms of how important it seems to me to find that information. I’ve got one from both Iron Man and Hawkeye that I’ll add for now. Hopefully I can find what comics I need for higher ranked ones. If anyone out there knows of a good place to find more info on these, please let me know!

This one wins an award for making me bust open a dictionary – Solipsistic: Of or characterized by the theory that only the self exists, or can be proved to exist. Good to know.

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Time For Some Thrilling Heroics! (Iron Man #1)

  1. “Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else”
    It was the opening arc of the fourth volume of Iron Man written by Warren Ellis and Adi Granov (Jan. 2005-May 2006). Yes it really took that long for those 6 issues to come out. That’s where Maya Hansen debuted as well and her character is set to make her live-action debut in the new Iron Man 3 movie. Extremis is looking to be heavily featured as well in the movie hence Marvel bringing it to the forefront in this series’ debut arc.

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Oooh, well that would make sense if they were planning to feature it in the movie, though I’m of the opinion that they really don’t need to do so. Usually the movies stand on their own without much help…but whatever 😛 Thank you again for all of your explanations!!

      • That’s right, the movies do stand on their own and always will. This storyline is cleverly timed so that an Extremis themed Trade Paperback of this arc will be on the shelves when the movie hits. That way Marvel hopes to transition the movie audience into the comic world with a familiar topic that they’ve just seen on the big screen. Clever, clever, clever… 🙂

Leave a Reply

