Big and Green (Indestructible Hulk #1 and #2)

So before we continue with more comic books, I need to give you a little more background. On the same day that I made my first trip to a comic book store, I also made a second trip to another comic book store that was closer to downtown (yes, I went to two comic stores in one day…on my first day reading comics. Shut up). I was going in that direction to meet with a few friends, so I thought I might as well check it out as well – maybe it’d be better stocked or have more helpful people than the first one.

So, remember that first impression I had of a comic book store? The small, minimally lit, dingy place with stacks of comic books everywhere – yeah, that would be my downtown comic store. Apparently they do exist! This place has a mind-boggling number of older comics, all stacked up so that they’re impossible to just glance at. I mean, I’m pretty sure I could sit in a corner of that store and stay their through an entire day and still not get a look at every single comic they have. It was ridiculous and impressive at the same time. One of their walls is dedicated to newer comics – though even that is somewhat questionable. I’ve been able to find back issues of recent series in those stacks that aren’t always available online or at my other local comic shop.

Anywho, when I get there, I’m just looking around, probably with eyes the size of dinner plates, and one of the two guys that worked there walked over and started talking to me. As we got through what I was interested in and what I already had, he steered me toward Indestructible Hulk – said it was going in a brand new direction and it was going to be interesting. Well, Banner was my other favorite character coming out of The Avengers movie (first being Stark), so I figured, sales pitch or not, it was worth trying. So I picked up the first two Indestructible Hulk comics to add to a quickly growing pile of comics I owned

Image

Overall, Indestructible Hulk #1 wasn’t bad. The vast majority of it was just set-up for the rest of the series: Banner no longer wants to be the guy who is trying to cure himself and not contributing to the world, so he wants to team up with SHIELD so he can start creating amazing things to help people. There’s really not much to be said about that. Banner is very confident…much more so than I’m used to (not that I have a ton of experience in that arena, it just wasn’t what I was expecting), but I kind of like the idea. I suppose it depends on where they end up taking it. Artwork kind of falls into the same place – it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t anything to write home about either. It was just…alright?

There were a couple of moments in there where the cheese factor was just a little too high. Now, I don’t mind some cheesy moments sometimes, but when it’s overdone, I’m not a fan.

Example 1: Maria Hill is talking to Coulson on her computer – “It’s not like HE’S going to fund US.” Banner is standing over her shoulder – “Hi” …Really?

Example 2: Thinker, near the end of the battle – “You’re strength. It’s Incalculable”….Ugg. Like I said. I don’t mind cheese, but not overly-done cheese.

I was intrigued by the mention of a war with the phoenix force…not a huge question, but interesting. I added it to my list of questions at the end of the post.

All in all, Not one of my favorites of what I’ve read so far, but seeing as I’ve already bought the second one, I’m obviously going to give the series some more time.

Image

Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome to the Flip-Flop show, where we change our opinion about a series in 20 minutes! I loved Indestructible Hulk #2

Okay, so maybe I just REALLY like the combination of Stark and Banner. They’re interplay in the Avengers movie were my favorite scenes too. So this issue plays right into my good books. You have Stark coming to try and figure out just how the heck Banner ends up working for SHIELD, they share some rather funny moments, and then end up in an all-out brawl. It was AWESOME! Tony and Bruce just have great chemistry together, on screen or on the page, it doesn’t matter. Their little moments back and forth are always amazing. I loved the math pun! Mostly because I was a computer science major in college, and we did things like that all the time. We’d write programs that were jokes, or write a program in such a way that the code would read as a joke, or write code in such a way that if you read it in english, it would tell you what the code would actually do – it’s exactly the type of thing two uber-nerds would do together, and it just made me happy! I love that Tony volunteered to fly Banner to the middle of nowhere (and both Bruce and Maria knew he would volunteer…). I loved the very end where Tony is looking in the mirror and says “You’re still rich”. This was just an awesome little story with two of my favorite characters!

Hopefully the rest of the series will be more like this than the first issue, but we shall see. I will definitely give the next few a shot and see how they go. Or maybe I just need to find more comics where these two are together 🙂

Completely random question here, but does anyone else think that Banner in this issue looks a little like Leonard Nimoy? Especially when he’s got the hood on?

Plots to Find in Older Comics:

  • War Against Phoenix Force – Low Priority. This was mentioned in Hulk #1, but not integral. Just curious.
  • Hawkeye’s Past – Low Priority. This is totally out of my own curiosity. You don’t need to know this to understand what’s going in in Hawkeye. It’s mentioned briefly, but it’s really not expanded on much.
  • Tony’s first experience with Extremis – Low Priority. It’s not something that it that integral to the plot, so it’s more of a curiosity than anything else
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

