In Terms of Introductions, This Was A Good One…(Hawkeye #1)

Before we get into the actual comic book, I just want to give you a little background here – the first time I went to my closest comic book store, it was almost nothing like I expected it to be. I expected a small, minimally lit, kind of dingy place where the comic books were stacked in boxes and covering the walls. I do not know why I had this impression in my head – maybe a residual impression from movies and TV shows – but my local comic book store could not have surprised me more. It was a pretty decent sized store. There were shelves lining three of the four walls (it’s basically a large rectangle, with the front door in a wall that’s entirely windows) and all of their comics rather nicely displayed so that you could see almost everything they had to offer. There is one section near the back where they have some boxes full of older comics that I haven’t really had a chance to explore yet, but it’s obviously not the focus of this store. Most of their stock is newer, recently released comics.

I walked into this place with a tiny list of titles to look for…and probably spent an hour just gawking at everything that was available. This was the longest I have spent in a comic store…and it will probably remain my longest trip until I start digging through the boxes of back issues. I looked at pretty much every single cover that was for sale, just soaking in the sheer variety and number of titles to choose from…and then I went and picked out the first issue in titles that had already been given to me by my friend (I’ll call her SM from now on). Yeah…I’m not so good at being spontaneous about these sorts of things…

Anywho, one of first comics I picked up was Hawkeye:

Image

It was a title that SM had been raving about from the moment she came back from her own comic store. It was one that I wasn’t about to leave there without – and was the first one I read when I came home.

I am going to sound like a broken record with this phrase, but, from the moment I opened that cover, Hawkeye was not at all what I was expecting. The first thing that got me was the artwork. I don’t know why I was expecting cleaner lines and different coloring, but I was. Instead, there are much rougher edges, simple coloring (mind you, I’m not an artist…this may take a lot longer than I think it would…) and very little detail. It took a while to reconcile that with what I had expected. However, the more I read, the more the artwork grew on me. It fits the story and the tone they’re setting, in my humble opinion, and by about halfway through, I was enjoying it immensely.

Second thing that got me was the story. So very simple and absolutely wonderful. I am a sucker for character building, especially with characters I like or don’t know that much about. Hawkeye fell into the later bucket (we really didn’t get that much exposure to him in The Avengers movie, and that’s all the exposure I had ever gotten) and it was just a joy to read. I really like this concept of seeing a Superhero live his or her normal life when they aren’t being a  Superhero. From what I can tell, this isn’t all that common, but its something I kind of wish there was more of.

I think the only thing that threw me off were the jumps in time through the story – and that’s not to say that it was a bad thing. I think it was executed very well and tied itself up very neatly. But apparently I don’t do well with non-linear stories. I was having to fight back the compulsion to mirror River Tam and start cutting out panels and put them back together in chronological order! That didn’t happen, of course, but I did have to reread a few times to make sure I fully understood what was going on. There was one jump in time where the Tracksuit Mafia came to confront Clint in the Veterinary Hospital, and that ended with a shot of the vet clinic’s window from the outside. And the very next panel (which was a jump back in time) was Clint being thrown through a very similar looking window. I was rather confused (The dog was back!! And he looked fine!). It took a second read-through to realize that the window he was thrown through was the chinese restaurant window. I’m gonna blame that on me being such a noob when it comes to Comics, because that’s probably the only thing that I had a problem with. I loved everything else about this!!

Oh, and seriously, Clint has some of the best random moments and one-liners. I’m thinking of starting a quote book. Or a Tumblr. Or something. They’re just too good to ignore 🙂

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “In Terms of Introductions, This Was A Good One…(Hawkeye #1)

  1. chasemagnett says:

    “Hawkeye” is both my favorite Marvel Comics and superhero book currently being published. It’s inventive, well written and beautifully illustrated. If you like this, you’d probably like Mark Waid’s “Daredevil” as well.

    And if I can make one more recommendation, “Saga” is, in my humble opinion, the best book on the stands. You can pick up the first six issues as a TPB for only $9.99. I look forward to seeing what else you discover and enjoy!

    • cr8zygurl says:

      Thank you so much! I’ve heard some really good things about Daredevil, but I haven’t gotten around to picking that one up. As it is, I’ve barely put up my thoughts on most of the issues I’ve collected in the short time I’ve been reading (I think I’m past 50 at this point!) But I’ll definitely add Daredevil as something to look for next Wednesday when I head back over to the store!

      As for Saga, I was looking at that the other day. It looks interesting, but my local comic store didn’t have some of the early additions. I’ve been staying away from TPBs so far (I kind of like hunting for all of the issues that are out!) but I may cave on this one. I was also looking into Morning Glories, which I’ve heard a lot of good things about. There is SO much to read!!

  2. chasemagnett says:

    It doesn’t get any easier. I’ve been at it for about a decade and still have a tough time deciding what to buy (going to try to write a column about that soon). Advice and reviews come in immensely handy and it’s one of my favorite things about visiting local stores, a rapport with comics staff is invaluable when collecting and searching for good reads.

    “Morning Glories” is enjoyable. If you enjoyed Lost, you’ll probably like it as well. Features a lot of interesting characters buried in layers of mystery and history. The first “book” just ended with issue 25 and I’m still hooked. “Saga” is worth picking up as a trade, if only to loan out to friends. I’m buying the series in floppies, digital copies and TPB’s. If you decide to check it out, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

